Share this article:
Next Blog Post

2023 MADD Law Enforcement Recognition Event Recap

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) believes in the importance of acknowledging the hard work that Law Enforcement Officers, Prosecutors, and Judges do across the country in preventing crashes by patrolling and taking impaired drivers off our roads. Every year, MADD Illinois holds a Law Enforcement Recognition banquet to recognize the men and women who have led the fight against drunk/drugged driving and underage drinking within their communities during the prior year. This year, our event was held on Saturday, September 9, 2023, at the Crowne Plaza-Springfield.

Congratulations to all of the Illinois MADD Hero Award Winners! The awards were presented Saturday, September 9. Thank you to our event sponsors: Illinois Department of Transportation #LeviRay&Shoup #MidwestCenterforTrafficSafety Illinois Truck Enforcement Association and #PlaquesPlus. Below is the list of winners:
Murphy Leadership Award: Tom Turek
Michael Collins Humanitarian Award: Dawn and Tedd Kruse
Trooper Brian McMillen Award: Deputy David Christiansen
Dan Stafiej DRE of the Year Award: Officer William Bianchi
Illinois State Police
Trooper Sterling Ross- Troop 3
Trooper Ryan Billingsley- Troop 5
Trooper Craig Beiermann- Troop 6
Trooper Christopher Wittemann- Troop 7
Trooper Mathew Tranter- Troop 8
Trooper Kevin Bradley- Troop 15
Illinois Conservation Police Department
Officer Austin Priest
Woodford County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Thomas McGuire
DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy David Christiansen
Grundy County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Alex Butts
Lake County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Michael Turkson
Coles County Sheriff’s Office
Deputy Chris Cochennour
Riverdale Police Department
Officer Daniel Lopez
Barrington Police Department
Sergeant John McGowan
Bartlett Police Department
Officer Jim Zefo
Mattoon Police Department
Officer Rolando Monte De Oca
Belvidere Police Department
Officer Matthew Korn
Carol Stream Police Department
Officer Brian Rudelich
Officer Nicolas Bacidore
Arlington Heights Police Department
Officer Jeffrey Heffernan
Hoffman Estates Police Department
Officer Anne Witt
Palatine Police Department
Officer Taylor Black
Melrose Park Police Department
Officer William Bianchi
Niles Police Department
Officer Roy Brines
Bannockburn Police Department
Sergeant Dennis Sears
Gurnee Police Department
Officer JR Nauseda
Lombard Police Department
Officer Matthew Kazy-Garey
Schaumburg Police Department
Officer David Cantillon
Edwardsville Police Department
Officer Derrick Nichols
Chicago Police Department
Officer Joseph Loiacono
Elgin Police Department
Officer Joshua Miller
To view photos from the event, please visit out Facebook Page.
Thank you to our event sponsors: