Honoring Our Heroes

On May 23, 2023, MADD Nebraska held our annual MADD Hero Awards Ceremony at Wilderness Ridge in Lincoln.

From the outside, the event probably looks like any other ceremony. We had speakers, special guests, and a number of awards to present. But, what you don’t see from the outside is just how incredibly special this particular event was. Why? Because this event honored some very incredible people. It honored so many who aren’t always thanked for the work they do. The MADD Hero Awards said thank you to those who serve and those who save lives. Our 29 honorees were mainly law enforcement and probation. People who do the work to end impaired driving. MADD cannot make an impact on the fight against impaired driving without those who work to enforce, educate, treat, and create change. We also know that every person who makes the sacrifice to protect our community from impaired driving, has a support system. We thank those who support those who do the work. The magic of the Hero Awards event is in the people in the room. From those who win to those who support, to those who are still learning their role in the fight. Together, everyone is part of a future with no more victims and that is why the day is so special. 

We also have to take the opportunity to thank our special guests for the event Colonel Ron Replogle (Ret), MADD National Law Enforcement Initiatives Manager, and William Kovarik, NDOT Highway Safety Administrator. A huge thanks to the Nebraska Department of Transportation Office of Highway Safety and Atwood Law Firm, the extra support of these two groups made the experience for all of the winners and their families even more meaningful! 

The 2023 MADD Heroes Are:

Adult DUI/DWI-Individual

Officer Brian Najera,Beatrice Police Department

Officer Alexandria Stobbe, Ralston Police Department

Deputy Ryan McSweeney, Cherry County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Christopher Williamson, Fremont Police Department

Deputy Paige Uzzell, Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Jason Schnieder, Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Joshua Townsend, Burt County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Seth McLaughlin, Alliance Police Department

Officer Jordan Jeffrey, Omaha Police Department

Trooper Benjamin Nguyen, Nebraska State Patrol Troop H Lincoln

Investigator Kathleen Brandt, Lincoln Police Department

Officer Edward Walters, Lincoln Police Department

Trooper Jonathan Royle, Nebraska State Patrol

Deputy Braden Shiley, Richardson County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Benjamin Keenan, Lincoln Police Department

Officer Zach Scholl, Lincoln Police Department

Deputy Anthony Gann, Seward County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Brennan Andrew, Morrill County Sheriff’s Office

Trooper Kaden Brandt, Nebraska State Patrol, Troop D

Adult DUI/DWI-Team

Troop H Weekend Night Shift

Sgt. Sean Wilson, Troopers Benjamin Nguyen, Nathan Knudson, Chase Landry, Ethan Schroeder, Moamal Ali, Joel McGrew, Nicholas Buck, Regan Holst

Nebraska State Patrol Troop H

Southwest Team Bicycle Patrol Unit

Officers Aaron Baney, Matthew Maguire, Connor Johnson, Ryan Sternhagen

Lincoln Police Department

Troop D

Sgt. Samuel Mortensen, Sgt. Darrel Crawford, Troopers Nathan Schulz, Kaden Brandt, Albert Brooks, Alex Coffman, David Cramer, Matthew Naughtin, Johnathan Royle, Jon Sanko, Schuyler Sauser, James Roberts Nebraska State Patrol Troop D

C Team

Lt. Mike Pettit, Sgt. Nick Greiner, Sgt. Craig Haverty, Officers Matt McGinn, Robert Markve, Ryan Agustin, Molly Coon, Jeff Keefe, Shalen Shivers, Crystal Kenny, Telly Ogea, Marissa Holwerda, Mike Jarvis

Bellevue Police Department

Drug Recognition Expert

Corporal Taylor J. Samek, York County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Ryan Lawrence, Lincoln Police Department

Education and Awareness

Officer Greg Lemons, Omaha Police Department

Officer Matt Kelly & Office Dan Rubin, Omaha Police Department

MIP Enforcement-Individual

Officer Courtney Brauch, Beatrice Police Department

Probation Individual

Officer Derek Berg, State of Nebraska Probation, District #2

If you would like any of the photos from the event, you can download them here.