MADD TN Announces 2016 Legislators of the Year

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) announced its “2016 Legislators of the Year” and recognized nine Tennessee legislators for their leadership in the General Assembly to stop drunk driving.  These Tennessee Legislators of the Year and their accomplishments:

  • Senator John Stevens and Representative William Lamberth authored SB 2065 and HB 1843 to further strengthen Tennessee’s law that requires ignition interlocks for all offenders.
  • Representative Lamberth also authored with Senator Randy McNally HB 1478 and SB 1572, which increases penalties for repeat drunk driving offenders on their sixth offense.
  • Representative Mark White authored legislation improving DUI reporting (HB 2199 and HB 1427), and Senator Mark Norris authored similar legislation (SB 2577 and SB 2576).
  • Senator Norris also authored SB 1156 boosting penalties for impaired drivers making certain DUI offenders ineligible for probation. Representative G.A. Hardaway authored similar legislation, HB 0401.
  • Representative Joe Pitts and Senator Kerry Roberts authored Tyler Head’s Law (HB 1514 and SB 1730) to establish a sign program to honor victims of impaired driving.
  • Senator Doug Overbey and Representative Dale Carr authored SB 35 and HB 576, which makes drunk or drugged driving offenders convicted of vehicular homicide ineligible for probation as of January 1, 2017.

“It has been a privilege to work with these dedicated legislators who have shown their commitment to preventing the completely preventable crime of drunk driving,” said Kate Ritchie, state program director of MADD Tennessee. “We count on our legislative champions to help us achieve our ultimate goal — No More Victims.”

MADD’s advocacy efforts originate from the Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving® that was launched in 2006. A key component of the Campaign calls for the passage of all-offender interlock laws, which require the use of an interlock device for any convicted drunk driver.  Prior to the Campaign, only one state — New Mexico — had an all-offender interlock law.  Today, 28 states and Washington D.C. have enacted all-offender interlock laws.  For more information on ignition interlocks, please visit